Amarcord Chicago Arthouse TV & Video Fest Awards

With festival season in full swing, the focus tends to land solely on the big events - the ones driven by the studios. However, there is a slew of equally important events for the independent filmmaker and the up and coming artist.

One such event is the Amarcord Arthouse Television and Video Fest. The semi-annual event recently announced the award recipients for their 2016 festival.

The Main Category winners are as follows:

Best of the Fest - Amarcord AwardEscapes (Spain)Mercedes Gaspar
Best Animated film - Norman McLaren AwardBug's breakfast (Hungary)Martin Helstáb
Best Comedy film - Charlie Chaplin AwardThe Strange Fate of Eli Jesus (UK)Reuben Vick
Best Documentary film - Dziga Vertov AwardThe Taxi Club (Sweden)Johan Palmgren
Best Experimental Film - Eisenstein AwardBobby Alaska and Donny Breadsticks in Heaven (USA)Philip Rabalais
Best Feature Film - Federico Fellini AwardThe Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (USA)Brian Barsuglia
Best Music Film/Music Video - Bob Fosse AwardThe Golden Age (USA)Justin Connor
Best Horror film - Alfred Hitchcock AwardSuicide Note (UK)Marina Waltz
Best Short Film - Bunuel AwardAlchemy (USA)Brandon Polanco
Best Student FilmMostly Useless (USA)Connor O'Rourke
Best Thriller/Action FilmThe Noise (Russia)Alexander Ezhevski
Best Trailer/Teaser/CommercialVienna table trip (Austria)Virgil Widrich
Best TV/Web Series EpisodeLadies Revenge Club (USA)Margo Neely

Technical Category winners are noted below:

Best DirectorEscapes (Spain)Mercedes Gaspar
Best ScreenplayZeitgeist Protest (France)Christophe Karabache
Best CinematographyLadies Revenge Club (USA)Sean Martin
Best ActorThe Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (USA)Gianni Capaldi
Best ActressEscapes (Spain)Huichi Chiu
Amarcord Honorary AwardThe Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (USA)Mickey Rooney
Amarcord Honorary AwardThe Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (USA)Margaret O'Brien
Honorable MentionThe Algebra of Need (USA)David Williams
Honorable MentionBeast Trailer (USA)Tim Carpenter
Honorable MentionCacophony (USA)AiHsuan Shih
Honorable MentionGus the Cat (USA)Lisa Donato
Honorable MentionLina (Austria)Walter Wehmeyer, Christine Wurm, Tino Ranftl, Andreas Scherlofsky
Honorable MentionMust Be Me 2 (Italy)Vincenzo Alfieri
Honorable MentionRococo Neuron (Japan)Narichika Oto, Wataru Yanagida
Honorable MentionTaco Terror (USA)Tyler Rice
Honorable MentionThe melody of unexpected encounters (Russia)Evgeniya Kazankina
Honorable MentionWeaving the Past: Journey of Discovery (USA)Walter Dominguez

Terms of Service  |  Privacy Policy  |  Subscribe (RSS)